Chatham Child Support Attorneys
Child Support Attorneys in Morris County, NJ
Establishing a child support award in New Jersey requires the help of an experienced attorney. Jennifer and Erin have handled matters involving child support where the combined incomes fall within, and well in excess of, the NJCSG parameters, as well as numerous matters involving unique issues complicating the calculation of child support. Contact Lazor Rantas, PC today to discuss your situation.
Factors Impacting Child Support in NJ
The New Jersey Child Support Guidelines (“NJCSG”) are the bases for calculating child support in many cases. The NJCSG rely on extensive economic theories. However, here are a few general concepts:
- They apply where both parents have a combined net income of $187,200 per year (the threshold income changes periodically).
- They apply to children who are not in college, and generally do not apply to children age 18 or older.
- Courts may deviate from the amount of child support calculated under the NJCSG.
- The NJCSG can be adjusted for the following items: predictable and reoccurring unreimbursed medical expenses, health care insurance premiums paid on behalf of a child(ren), work-related childcare expenses, the regular, overnight parenting time responsibilities of each party, and other expenses approved by the court.
- Support obligations to children born of a different relationship may also impact the child support calculation.
Where the combined income exceeds $187,200 net per year, the court applies the NJCSG up to the threshold income then weighs factors to assess what additional child support is appropriate. The factors (NJSA 2A:34-23) are as follows:
- The age and health of the child
- The age and health of each parent
- The earning capacity of each parent
- The assets and liabilities of each parent
- The financial situation of each parent
- The standard of living for each parent
- The need and capacity of the child for education
- The child custody arrangement
- The needs of the child
Child Support Termination
Child support, whether based on the NJCSG or otherwise, generally ends when a child is emancipated. By current law, emancipation occurs when a child turns age 19, unless that child is continuing with his/her education or other circumstances apply.
Parental College Tuition Obligations
In New Jersey, divorced parents as well as non-married parties with children, can have an obligation to contribute to their child’s college education and related expenses. Some divorcing parties even include provisions for this obligation in the divorce agreements. College contribution is determined by weighing various factors originally set forth in the decision Newburgh v. Arrigio, 88 N.J. 529 (1982):
- The relationship between the child and the parents
- The availability of financial aid to the child
- The child’s financial resources
- The commitment and aptitude of the child
- The financial capacity of each parent
- The school and course of study that the child will pursue
- The ability of a parent to pay
- The amount of contribution sought
The law interpreting these factors is extensive and evolving. Jennifer and Erin had helped clients resolve college contribution issues, both by agreement and litigation.
Contact Lazor Rantas, PC
The experienced Chatham, New Jersey family law attorneys at Lazor Rantas, PC serve clients throughout New Jersey as they navigate through complicated child support matters. For quality legal representation when you need it most, contact Lazor Rantas, PC today.